Where Are The Virunga Mountains Located



The Virunga chained Mountains cover three African countries, including the southwestern part of Uganda, which covers Mgahinga Gorilla National Park; the Democratic Republic of Congo in the east, covering the Virunga National Park; and Rwanda, covering the Volcanoes National Park.


The Virunga Chained Mountains, also known as the Virunga Massif, offer unique experiences to tourists in Africa. It is the only home to the world’s mountain gorillas and golden monkeys. Many visitors come to see the endangered mountain gorillas and golden monkeys.


The Virunga chained mountains have a total of eight distributed volcanic mountains located in three different countries: Uganda, Rwanda, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. These chained mountains include Mount Nyamuragira, Mount Mikeno, and Mount Nyiragongo, all located in the DRC; Mount Bisoke and Mount Karisimbi, all situated at the border of Rwanda and the DRC; and Mount Sabinyo, Mount Gahinga, and Mount Muhabura, all located at the border of Uganda and Rwanda.


Mount Muhabura is situated on the border of Uganda and Rwanda. It’s the third-highest mountain in the Virunga chain of mountains. This volcanic mountain has steep slopes and hiking is very hard, but at its peak, you will view almost all the Virunga chained mountains, Mountain gorilla trekking also takes place within the volcanic mountains found in Virunga, and other mountains include mount Nyiragongo, Mount Karisimbi, Mount Nyamuragira, mount Gahinga, and Mount Sabinyo.


Contact Us

Entebbe Road, Abaita Ababili,

1 floor, 2 Way Arcade,

Next to Lumala Agency Hardware.

Email: info@gorillasafariscompany.com

Tel: +256703840771

WhatsApp: +256774859719

Devine African Safaris is the leader in Gorilla trekking tours and safaris in Uganda & Rwanda